Day 9 – Buy a stranger flowers

01.17.06 – Day 9 – Buy a stranger flowers.

It’s crazy to me how tough this one was. I basically worked for 12 hours today, & when I left work at 8:45 pm, the florists were closed. So I headed over to Kowolski’s grocery store (24/7). I bought a moderately priced bunch of flowers (roughly $4) and headed out to the front door to give it to the first stranger I saw. Here are all four attempts:

1) A short man with a beard walks out. I say, “Excuse me sir. Would you like-” “No.” And he kept right on walking.

2) A young man and woman (late 20s) walk up and I say, “Excuse me, but I wanted to give some flowers to a stranger, and I don’t know either of you, so…here you go.” They looked at each other, laughed nervously, and said “No.” “You don’t want FREE flowers?” “No.” And they walked inside. What’s wrong with these people? If someone offered me free flowers, I’d be all about it.

3) A 30 something woman in a red trench coat walks up. “Hi, I really need to give these flowers to someone. Would you like them?” “Sure.” “Great! Would you mind if I took a photo of you with the flowers so I can prove that I gave them to someone?” “Well, then I don’t want them.” “Seriously? Well, you can just have them. I don’t need to take a photo.” “You lost your chance, buddy.” I just laughed in her face at how ridiculous she was being.

4) A 40 to 50 something woman walks out of the store and I say, “Excuse me. I’d like to give some flowers to a stranger, and I don’t know you, so…Enjoy!” “Seriously? You’re GIVING them to me?” “I’m 100% serious.” “Wow. How generous.” “Have a great night.”

Success. This one was a lot of fun. Mainly because it required me to do something with a stranger. Most of the other ones I’ve been able to perform with people I know (or on the phone).

Points earned: 3
Total points: 24

2 Responses to “Day 9 – Buy a stranger flowers”

  1. Joe Manley Says:

    Mr. Nate,
    Hello. Joseph Manley here. Please place me on the list for life changing altercations. I’ve only just now discovered this experiment, so I’ll have to start with boycotting something that’s never been boycotted before. Since i work at a cafe, I might refuse to serve anyone cafe fair or equal exchange coffee. We’ll see. But anyways, thanks.
    Joe Manley
    p.s. one Kathleen Manley gets three points for the exposure day, for she has gotten someone else in on it.

  2. Flowers Says:

    Nice blog. Enjoyed going through it. Keep it up the good work. Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

