Day 10 – Boycott something

01.18.06 – Day 10 – Boycott something that’s never been boycotted before.

Boycott

I have always hated boxer briefs. I got a pair once and they just plain sucked. They really just take the worst parts of boxers and the worst parts of briefs and combine the two without any of the benifits… They suck. So I decided to boycott them.

First, I did some internet research to see if anyone else had boycotted them before. I went to http://www.boxerbriefs.com and couldn’t find any info. As far as I know I’m the only one who has actively boycotted boxer briefs.

So I made a sign, picked a semi-busy corner in downtown Minneapolis, and boycotted the shit out of them for about a half an hour. I got a lot of laughs, a lot of honks, and a lot of confused faces. One guy walked by and said, “Hey man! Why are you boycotting briefs? I wear briefs!” “No, no, no….BOXER briefs.” “Oh. Yeah, those things are horrible.” And then he gave me a high five.

Points earned: 3
Total Points: 27

6 Responses to “Day 10 – Boycott something”

  1. Joseph Says:

    Well, now that I’m on the train, I figured I’d go for something deeply intertwined with my existence. I chose fair trade and equal exchange coffee, because those pretentious fuckers needed to be taken down a notch. Working in a cafe, I figured this would prove worthy enough. No dice. A lot of customers, couple people there for beans, nobody wanted the Cafe Fair varieties at all. You’re darn right I didn’t clip that bag shut at the end of the night, though. I’ll consider this a slow start, just getting warmed up. Two points.

  2. n8duke Says:

    Dude, I’d give you full points for that…your attempt was much more confrontational. Give yourself another piont there, joseph.

  3. brie Says:

    That was awesome.

    You totally earned your three points.

  4. Andy Says:

    Ok, so you get the points for participating, but you lose other points–“cool points”–for boycotting something awesome. Boxer briefs are not, as you say, the worst parts of boxers and briefs, but rather the best parts. Briefs are out the window–they’re tight and restrictive. Boxers solve that, but they have a habit–one you can’t deny–of bunching up and pulling themselves over your pantline. This is, perhaps boxer’s only real problem, and Boxer briefs solve it, without being restrictive like TWs. So, plus 3 for the contest, minus 10 for tomfoolery.

  5. Brandon Says:

    Andy is way wrong, who told him about this site?

  6. n8duke Says:

    I’m not sure who told Andy about this site…but I disagree with him. Boxer briefs combine the constrictiveness around the jibblets that briefs give you and the riding up that boxers give you…plus, the few days that I tried ’em out, it chafed me. So I guess different strokes for different folks, but boxer briefs for no one.

Leave a Reply

