Day 16 – Test a proverb

I tested 3 proverbs today. First, I tried out “the grass is always greener on the other side.” I tried it on two fences. The first one was in my own yard, and as you can see from first the photo, the grass was actually greener on MY side. On the other fence, there was no grass to be seen. All in all, I’d say that this proverb couldn’t stand up to the test.

fence
fence again

I next tried “Look before you leap.” I closed my eyes, turned around in circles, and leapt forward. Luckily I didn’t hit anything…but I was close to landing on the coffee table.

Last but not least, I got some snack cakes to try out the “you can’t have your cake and eat it too.” As you can see from the photo, I was unable to eat it.

snack nick

Nick thought they were “OK.”

Points earned: 3
Total points: 42

5 Responses to “Day 16 – Test a proverb”

  1. Brandon Says:

    ooooooh-taaaaay

  2. aj Says:

    what about my favorite proverb: when god closes a door, he opens a window. did you test that one? you should have. god would have won.

  3. Brandon Says:

    or “objects in mirror are closer than they apear”

  4. Joseph Says:

    My worst enemy is my lack of memory. That’s not a proverb, it’s an excuse. But I did try out “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make them drink.” First, I offered a blend of mustard and ranch as a carrot dip to my roommate. No dice. Later, I suggested to someone at work that they try my signature Soy Matte Latte with a hint of almond (no I’m not gay, nor do I work at Starbucks), again, no dice. Late night, we offered whiskey to our friend Cali, and three for three means apparently there aren’t a lot of thirsty horses in Madison. Career total:11

  5. Dad Says:

    I forgot to report that on the 24th, I tested 2 proverbs for practical
    usefullness:
    1, “a rolling stone gathers no moss” – I do not really get the meaning of
    this … maybe it means that if you keep active, good stuff will happen …
    or if moss is a good thing, then constantly changing does not give moss a
    chance to grow??? In any case, we have a large round stone in the back
    yard. First I inspected it to make sure there was no moss on it at the
    start of the test. Then I rolled it down the hill and re-examined it.
    Although it did gather some dirt, it did not collect any moss. The proverb
    was correct (do not try this with a large stone, because it took a lot of
    work to roll it back up the hill (wasn’t that Sysiphys?).
    2. “a stitch, in time saves nine” – I think that this is equal to … an
    ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. Anyway, I made a windchime
    and secured the windcatcher/sail with a single strand of 50 pound test
    fishing line. Unfortunately, I did not take any action to prevent the
    windcatcher/sail from spinning around (swing back and forth is good,
    spinning is not). After about 2 weeks of spinning, it broke and dropped to
    the ground! Now I am at stage two, which is putting a double strand of
    fishing line in place. So far it is working, but I can see that it still
    spins in the wind. Stage three will be to use some kind of pivoting
    connecter that will allow the sail to spin freely, without twisting the
    fishing line.
    Love,
    Dad/Robert

Leave a Reply

