Day 23 – Record the next generation of canned laughter

I recorded a bit of my laughter with a mini tape recorder…but I wasn’t ACUTALLY laughing, so it just came out sounding dumb. So in order to torture myself, I downloaded a 2 second canned laughter clip, and put it on repeat for about 30 minutes. It was really irritating. download it yourself and try it out. I’m actually listening to it while I type this. (http://douweosinga.com/projects/laughter/source.zip) Laugh.wav As you can see, I attempted to put the file on here, but I don’t really know what I’m doing…Eli? show me how to fix it, bra.

I also learned a bit about the history of canned laughter.

Canned laughter was developed to assuage the deep sense of loneliness people felt sitting at home alone listening to noises come out of furniture. Sharp-eared radio producers hired claques of audience plants to laugh and applaud lustily, the better to comfort the anxious soul listening in his sterile rented room, decaying homestead, or dust-caked farmhouse. Society was actively bound together by that unanimous chorus of chortles and giggles. The rise of TV in the ’50s, set against the background of Cold War anxiety, created an even more pressing need for a reliable laugh engine. (you can find out more at the webpage with the worst layout ever… http://www.suck.com/daily/99/06/21/ ).

I’ve got to turn this laughter off…or I’ll kill myself.

Points earned: 3
Total points: 61

4 Responses to “Day 23 – Record the next generation of canned laughter”

  1. Brandon Says:

    I can’t fucking stand laughter on TV, its even hard for me to watch Seinfeld now, I used to love that show.

  2. n8duke Says:

    I hear ya’.

  3. Joe Says:

    Yeah laughtracks blow. I guess I misinterpreted this one, thought I was supposed to be a laugh track for all that went on around me. No recording devices were used, but the crowd went wild, nonetheless. I’ll take two, as the effort was there. 24

  4. n8duke Says:

    no way joe. I like your interpretation better than my own. go back there and give yourself three points, sucka.

Leave a Reply

