Day 152 – One billion of your atoms used to belong to Beethoven. Sue for royalties.

I agree that since atoms are, in a sense, recycled, that one billion of my atoms used to belong to Beethoven. But also, one billion of my atoms used to belong to Jesus, Akbar the Great, Jane Austen, Julius Caesar, Mark Twain, Lewis and Clark, Hitler, and anyone else who died before I was born. So I called a lawyer and asked him how I could go about suing for royalties. The best part of the conversation went something like this:

“So, who exactly do you want to sue?”

“Anyone who has copied ‘my’ music over the years.”

“So, basically, everyone, right?”

“I guess so.”

“Well, I believe that most of ‘your’ works have been public domain for quite sometime. I don’t know about music, but I do know that a book becomes public domain 70 years after the death of the author.”

“Yeah, but, as you can see, I’m ALIVE.”

“I agree that you are alive, but I don’t think it will hold up in a court of law.”

“But, that’s where you come in.”

“Well, we could try (and I stress TRY), but it would take a lot of time and money.”

“No thanks…unless this is pro bono work. You could be famous.”

“Uhhh…no thanks.”

I loved how professional he was with this whole ridiculous idea.

Points earned: 2
Total points: 386

Leave a Reply

