Day 199 – Dark side of the rainbow

I think it’s important to note that I did not do this one while high, which I believe is the preferred method of doing this because it’s the only way I can think of that anyone could stomach Pink Floyd’s terrible music. I’ve always hated Pink Floyd, and this only solidified and legitimized my hatred. Here’s a Neil Hamburger joke that really sums it up:

Q: Why did al-Qaeda burn thousands of copies of Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon?
A: Because it’s a terrible album.

Anyway, I’m sure most of you have heard about the whole Wizard of Oz/Dark Side of the Moon thing. If not, click here. I could not find a single friend that owned DSotM, which is good for people I know. But that also meant that I had to go to Cheapo and buy a used copy….which I will be returning tomorrow.

The whole experience was pretty fun, and several things matched up pretty well. I’m glad I did it. Around the time that this WoO/DSotM thing started to get popular I was in a band called Fallopian Vultures. We were totally awesome. If you don’t believe me, ask anyone who saw our live shows. Anyway, we had just finished our masterpiece, a 20+ minute opus called Venture. We thought that there had to be a movie out there that would match up with our jam….and we found it. Turner & Hooch. If you don’t believe me, try it out. You just have to press play when Hooch barks for the third time. It was just as amazing (if not more so) than the Pink Floyd bullshit.

Points earned: 3
Total points: 504

6 Responses to “Day 199 – Dark side of the rainbow”

  1. pete Says:

    do any of the FV recording still exist? i don’t actually remember what that band or CW sounded like.

    the other day in bloomington – other meaning several months ago – i saw a FV sticker on someone’s skateboard as they rolled past me. i yelled but, dudebro, he was gone.

  2. n8duke Says:

    You SAW someone with an FV sticker on their skateboard? I thought I was the only one in the universe who had one….that’s crazy…simply crazy.

  3. SEAN Says:

    I do not believe you, Pete. And that article is embarrasing, Nate.

  4. Brandon Says:

    If someone needs to be high or borrow a copy of (pretty much) any Pink Floyd album, then holla at your boy! I am also quite experienced with synching it up to classic cinema from the ’30s and ’40s.

  5. pete Says:

    luckily, sean, i don’t believe that you don’t believe. cancels out, right? maybe not. maybe it was just a dream of me seeing it. did a sticker look like a little dinosaur guy barfing/saying the band name?

  6. n8duke Says:

    That’s the one. I’m amazed.

Leave a Reply

