Day 297 – Live by the scout code of honor

The scout law (as best I can remember it) is:

On my honor, I promise to do my best for God and my country, to help other people at all times, and to obey the scout law.

It’s something like that, right? I started off selling a few Nintendo items on craigslist and failing to report my earnings to the US government. Strike 1. I don’t think I even thought about God. Strike 2. However, I did help Nick write a three page paper about the Native Americans’ fight for survival. So at least I didn’t strike out.

It’s funny, because I actually got kicked out of boy scouts back in 6th or 7th grade. See, I loved boy scouts. We got to make pine wood derby cars, play games, eat bugs, etc. Then I got to boy scouts and we fuckin’ read the instructions on a first aid box (seriously). So my good friend Kyle Kellum and I decided that it wasn’t for us anymore. Our parents would drop us off at the church where scouts took place and we’d wave good-bye, pretending to go in….but instead we’d go down the street, use out “dues” money to buy candy bars and comic books, and head up to the top floor of the church to hang out. Well, one night we got a little crazy and had a loud spit ball fight, and we were found by the scout masters (as an aside, my brother’s scout master’s last name was Bates…yup, scout master Bates. They called him that ALL THE TIME). They told us that we had to go home and tell our parents what we’d done, write a letter to the church/scout troop appologizing for what we’d done, or else we’d be “asked not to come back.” I refused to tell my parents, so I was asked not to come back.

Points earned: 2
Total points: 740

3 Responses to “Day 297 – Live by the scout code of honor”

  1. Chris Says:

    While you were squandering your time reading comic books and having spitball fights, you were missing out!

    http://www.cityofnoblesville.org/egov/docs/110210002262.htm

    from a random websearch–I’m sick today and i don’t have much else to do.

  2. Abbey Says:

    Did you at least hate gays? I thought that was the boy scout code?

  3. n8duke Says:

    Funny you should mention that, Abbey….Here’s something I forgot to tell y’all about. Right around the time that Eli, my brother, was going for his eagle scout award, the BSA (boy scouts of america for the lay person) took away a kid’s eagle award for coming out of the closet. Eli quit in protest. Way to go, E.

Leave a Reply

