NWCGE2K7

I had a blast at the Northwest Classic Games Expo 2007. I even won a few things! I got the high score on Burgertime for NES (22,400) and won an Atari Chapionship shirt…pretty cool. I got the high score on Mario Clash for Virtual Boy (69,990) and won a plug in SSX Snowboarding game. I got SMOKED in Guitar Hero. It wasn’t even funny. But at least I got beat by the kid that got 2nd place. I entered the NES competition and it went down like this: I beat John Hancock (the guy I met yesterday) in Balloon Fight, but it was pretty close. Then I destroyed the next round of Dr. Mario (man, I love that game), and beat some poor kid that had never played that game before. The second to last round was Marble Madness, which I got the highest score on (41,200), and I’m usually not all that good at that game. The final round was on an actual Nintendo World Championship 1990 cart that some guy had. It was prety impressive. He payed 2 grand for it, which is a pretty good price on that cart. Anyway, I thought I had it in the bag, ’cause I’ve been playing that repro for a while now and I pretty consistantly get in the upper 700,000s, but I choked under the pressure and got third place…oh well. I did win a copy of Halo 3 for Xbox 360….I guess I’ll sell it on ebay…I mean, I’m not even reMOTELY interested in that game. All in all, I had one heck of a great time and I can’t wait to go next year, and maybe even go to PAX. That’d be fun.

Oh yeah, then I came home and played a kick ass game of Settlers of Catan with Ingrid, Matthew, and Katherine. Good times. Anyone else wanna play SofC?

5 Responses to “NWCGE2K7”

  1. shaners Says:

    line breaks, man. LINE BREAKS!

    i’m glad you had fun. all of your NES nerding has finally paid off. nerd.

  2. n8duke Says:

    Oh, I KNOW I’m suposed to do line breaks…I just choked under the pressure. Next year.

  3. eli Says:

    that’s amazing! you did so well!

  4. bookis Says:

    I’m impressed. I’m going to tell everyone I know an Atari champion and you have the shirt to prove it.

    Speaking of Minnesota, Do you know any awesome people there who wouldn’t mind an awesome house guest (me) for a week in late Nov.?

  5. Dustin Says:

    Man-we should schedule a jaunt to Vegas next year for the Classic Gaming Expo. It’s a BIG deal.

Leave a Reply

