My Top 3 Albums of 2007

Hey all.  I’m sitting here in the power plant in Antarctica doing absolutely nothing, so I thought I’d write up a little review.  Here are my top three albums of 2007:

3.  Between The Buried And MeColors

BTBAM is one of my favorite bands.  They are absolutely amazing live, and they are amazingly tight.  This album is pretty great in that it is essentially one long song with no breaks.  They are really doing some amazing things musically.  The main reasons this one was not number one on my list is that the track breaks are just too damn long (11 minute songs?), and they seems to throw in country & other styles just to show that they can be done.  I’m all for changes and trying new things in music, but I just think those don’t really work. 

2. A Wilhelm ScreamCareer Suicide

Holy crap I was excited to hear this album.  I got to see these guys open up for Strung Out in Portland, and they completely blew me away.  I absolutely love “Ruiner” (the album before this one) and Career Suicide just takes it up several notches.  Every song is fast and fun and singable.  Great lyrics, amazing breakdowns, and beautiful harmonies.  AWS is only getting better.  I can’t wait for the next album!  Also, I should be back in Portland to see them again in April.  Eeeeeeeee!

1. Smoke Or FireThis Sinking Ship

When I first heard this album, I thought it was pretty good.  However, after giving it a few more listens, I realized that it is tottaly fuckin’ rad.  I have fallen in love with it….and I thought I liked “Above the City”!  It’s fantastically great.  It rocks really hard, and the lyrics really struck a chord with me (having been in a band on tour and especially when leaving for Antarctica).  If you want an album with heart and the ability to make you drop what you’re doing and rock out, this is the one for you.

Honorable mention:

See You Next Tuesday – Parasite, They Might Be Giants – The Else, Full Blown Chaos – Heavy Lies the Crown, A Life Once Lost – Iron Gag

I’m sure there are more, but I’m blanking…maybe an update later. 

One Response to “My Top 3 Albums of 2007”

  1. ingrid Says:

    it’s so….. so……. offensive….

Leave a Reply

