Ok, fine….

So, here’s a little update….

My ankle is still not 100%.  I’m going to a physical therapist and doing all sorts of odd exercises such as picking up marbles with my toes and putting them in a jar, balancing on one foot while throwing a heavy medicine ball at a trampoline, & electrocuting my ankle while wrapping it in ice.  It’s a weird experience…but I think I’m getting better.  I’ve got a re-evaluation on Wednesday to find out how much longer I’ll need to continue with this.

On Wednesday of this past week, I finally broke down, and with the help of Drew, built one kick ass shelving unit for my huge NES collection.  It was quite a project, and ended up taking two days due to a mistake in measurement….but everything turned out just fine.  It’s really a site to behold.  It is 6.5 feet high, and 3.75 feet wide, & 13 shelves of pure video gaming craziness.  It’s really amazing.  If any of you would like to come over and play Rampart with me, drop me a line….let’s make it happen.  

Saturday was the big Beer Pong tourney at the Ass Chapel Duex.  There were 24 (?) teams of two with partners chosen randomly….it was madness.  My partner was some guy named Jesse….good guy.  Oh, for those of you wondering, no, I didn’t drink any beer.  Jesse had to drink for two…like a pregnant lady.  There were three sXe-ers there: Shane, Bookis, and me.  Anyway, the tournament was double elimination, and, of course, we lost our first match and were forced into the losers’ bracket.  Jesse and I swept through four rounds (including a solid pounding of Shane/Hannah) of the losers’ bracket before we were beaten in a close match.  the whole thing was a lot of fun, and I love the idea of Shane’s sXe-pong.  OH, and it turns out that the girl didn’t die….she was just hiding in the closet.  

The next day was of course 420….lots of weed….lots of hilarity.  I saw a guy walking out of some glass/head shop near my house with a bong the size of a large cat.  Shane, Ingrid, Hannah, Bookis, and I went to Paradox for ‘brunch’, which was great, and exactly like last time….we had to wait for EVER for a table, and then the SUPER DUPER cute waitress (Ashley) served us.  After taking Shane to the Amtrak station, and Hannah/Beaky to the boys’ to catch a ride, I went to Sarah’s house for a new tattoo!  I really like it a lot.  It’s a little boy swinging on a rope…. I’ll put up a photo soonish.  

Thanks to everyone who made my weekend a LOT of fun: Ingrid, Shane, Hannah, Bookis, Dustin, Drew, Casey, Brandon, Tyler, Jesse, Danny, Brit, Lucas, Sarah, Blaine, ad everyone I’m forgetting!  

3 Responses to “Ok, fine….”

  1. emilypls Says:

    i’m excited to see you in pdx this summer. good luck with rehabbing your ankle, take it from me, it’s a bitch.
    i’ll show you my cool ankle scar sometime.

  2. DK Says:

    your “wall o’ nintendo” seriously shook me to my core. i get goosebumps thinking about it. too bad i didn’t have time to play goonies II.

  3. Tierney Says:

    Dear writer of Life in N8,

    Let me introduce myself, I am a college art student and I have been following your blog on Antarctica, along with some others, for a while now. I have recently been contemplating illustrating a short piece (a few pages) about Antarctica and I was wondering if you, someone who has experienced it for themselves, would have any insightful tips to give me either about the environment there, the people, the stations or anything else that you think people should be aware of. Any insights about Antarctica that you could possibly give me for this project would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you.

    Tierney Hogan

    p.s. I want to thank you for blogging all about your adventures in Antarctica. I find it all so fascinating. Thanks, again! =)

Leave a Reply

