2008 Presidential Election.

I can not and will not vote for anyone who has said that they would increase the military’s budget.  I can not and will not vote for anyone who wants to send more troops into Afghanistan, and who wants to go kick ass in Iran.  I can not and will not vote for anyone who voted to give the $700 billion to the banks who fucked up, and allows corporations to run wild.  I can not and will not vote for anyone who approves nuclear power.  I can not and will not vote for anyone who does not wish to impeach Bush/Cheney.  I can not and will not vote for anyone who will not open an independent investigation into 9/11.  

What more will it take for people to realize that voting for McCain or Obama is throwing your vote away.  McCain will lose, and Obama will win.  Just prepare yourselves to be disappointed.  

That’s not to say that I will not vote.  I definitely will vote.  I will be voting for Ralph Nader.  I was considering voting for Cynthia McKinney, and I still love her to death, but I just don’t think she has the experience that Nader does.  Maybe she could be on his cabinet.  

votenader.org

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “2008 Presidential Election.”

  1. Bratwurs Says:

    Meh, I’m just voting for the guy who will give my dad health care, fund my NSF grant, and improve public transit.

    At the very least, whoever gets elected, Guantanamo better get closed the fuck down. If that doesn’t happen, I’m with you in 2012.

  2. Simon Rusk Says:

    Nate,

    I respect your chioce but, I must say it is disapointing. This is a once in a life time election, and you have a chance to be one of the voters who elected an progressive african american to be president of the United States of America for the first time in history. Not that that alone is a good reason, but there lots of good reasons to be supporting Obama.
    I take some ofense at the sugesstion that I will be throwing my vote away by voting for Obama. I do however agree that expectations cannot be that high. The next president, no matter who, will have an incredibley difficult task infront of them. So much has been squanderd by the current administration and the republicans.
    I am impressed with Obama. I think he has proven himself to be an excelent manager, and he seems to have his heart in the right place.
    We are going to need a smart principaled and couragous leader to undo the destruction of the past 20-30 years, and it is not going to happen overnight. There is good reason so many people come to see Obama, and support Obama; his message is like a breath of fresh air and of hope that we can be better then before. Do not underestimate the power of great inspiring leadership to make progressive and lasting change.

    Obama 2008.

    Simon

  3. n8duke Says:

    Hey Simon. Good to hear from you. And thanks for writing your opinions on the matter. That’s exactly what I wanted.

    So, here’s the thing. I think that Obama used to be a great guy. I’ve read sections of his book, and I like how he excites people. However, Obama has been corrupted by the whole two party system. I feel like he has let me down on so many issues.

    He used to be the candidate of peace, but now he’s all gung-ho about going into Afghanistan.

    He used to be the candidate for the people, but he voted in the wall street bail out without any accountability for the banks involved. That doesn’t end corporate crime, it just encourages it.

    And why isn’t he working towards actual FREE healthcare for all Americans (much like the way it is in Canada or parts of Europe). His plan seems better than McCain’s, but not where it should be.

    He used to attend meeting for and vocally support Palistine, but now he is Israel, Israel, Israel.

    He used to be very against offshore drilling, but now it’s back on the table.

    He supports the Patriot Act and refuses to work toward impeachment of Bush/Cheney.

    I can’t vote for a person who feels that way about so many things that I feel so strongly about. I think that Obama is going to win, and I am slightly glad that it won’t be McCain/Palin walking into the white house. I hope I’m wrong, and that he becomes one of the great presidents of the United States, but so far, it doesn’t look that way.

  4. n8duke Says:

    I forgot to address the ‘throwing your vote away’ part. There is always going to be a “lesser of two evils” in the two party system. We need to break out of this and start having actual debates with more than Democans and Republicrats…with actual DEBATE. I was also a little hot headed when I wrote this post.

Leave a Reply

